Residents for Improving Dart Efficiency and Ridership

  MISSION:  IMPROVE DART RIDERSHIP NUMBERS, REDUCE SUBSIDY PER PASSENGER AND INCREASE SAFETY

  

EMAIL: INFO@DART-RIDER.ORG

We want City Council of Dallas and other cities to hold DART Board members ACCOUNTABLE for DART moving in the wrong direction. Cities contribute 1% of Sales Tax to Fund DART – Total pay $600 million per year and Dallas $300 million which is same amount Dallas pays Fire Dept. This is our residents’ money.

TAKE ACTION!

Here is a sample letter that YOU can send to the Dallas mayor, Dallas  City Council members, Interim Dallas City Attorney, Assistant Dallas City Manager and DART board members.  Demand that DART Staff be held accountable to  City of Dallas resolutions, DART board policies and Texas Transportation Code Chapter 452!

Go to Sample Letter

Video of the Week 7/7/2019

Have landscaping prices gone up significantly? Is DART paying $16,800 for a tree as a Betterment option  for the Cotton Belt?


It appears all of the Betterment options are way above market pricing.

Go to Video

OUR 4-step process

image1

Step 1: Stop Building the Cotton Belt Rail

-  Take UBER – Less expensive per ride & over 2-3x quicker

-  Technology – Change is good, ex:  autonomous cars.  Bad idea, 30 year old rail idea.

-  DART will subsidize over $17,000 per year for a worker to take it during work-week

-  The cost to build Cotton Belt $1.1 billion is as expensive as Cowboys Texas Stadium

-  More people will visit Cowboys 8 Home Games than Ride Cotton Belt entire year

-  Lower MPG rating per rider than Cadillac Escalade on Highway with 1 Person

-  Residents will Subsidize “Freight” since the rail will not have enough Riders

Step 2: Create comprehensive plan to increase Ridership, Lower Subsidy Per Passenger and Improve Safety

-  Repair DART – Since 2008, Ridership is down 8% while costs +50% or $230 million.

-  Bus ridership is down 30%

-  Debt at DART is up $1.4 billion to $3.6 billion.

Step 3: Change Management compensation

Focus on Ridership, Reduce Subsidy per Ride, Safety.  Keep it simple and install new management if cannot adhere to this policy 

Step 4: Forecasts should be reasonable

 DART posted huge misses on 2018 budget ridership but prides themselves on 20 year forecast.

PLAN OF ACTION

Dallas Resident Steps:

It is your $300 million that you are paying to DART each year and we want an increasing Return for Our Money.


1. Dart Board of Directors - Call or Email them to hold them Accountable to Improve Ridership and Lower Costs. DART Board votes on large projects like the Cotton Belt

a. Dart Board of Directors can STOP the Cotton Belt

b. Dart Board of Directors can Initiate a Plan to increase Ridership, Lower Subsidy per Passenger and Improve Safety

c. Dart Board of Directors can change DART CEO if he does not act in best interest of Residents


Dallas - Chair: Sue Bauman ssbauman@dart.org

Dallas: Ray Jackson RJackson4@dart.org

Dallas: Patrick Kennedy PJKennedy@dart.org

Dallas: Jon-Bertrell Killen jbkillen@dart.org

Dallas: Michele Wong Krause mwkrause@dart.org

Dallas: Amanda Moreno amcross@dart.org

Dallas: Dominique P. Torres dptorres@dart.org

Dallas, Cockrell Hill: Eliseo Ruiz IIIeruiz@dart.org

Garland: Jonathan R. Kelly jrkelly@dart.org

Irving: Rick Stopfer rhstopfer@dart.org

Plano: Paul N. Wagemanpn wageman@dart.org

Multiple: Gary Slagel gaslagel@dart.orgCarrollton, 

Irving: Doug Hrbacek dhrbacek@dart.org

Multiple: Lissa Smith lsmith1@dart.org

Multiple: Marck C. Enoch mcenoch@dart.org 


2.  City Council Members – Call or Email them to hold them Accountable to Improve Ridership and Lower Costs. City Council Members vote for the DART Board

a. City Council Members can vote to change the DART Board

b. City Council Members can provide info to change DART Board Views


District 1: Chad West Chad.West@dallascityhall.com 214-670-0776

District 2: Adam Medrano adam.medrano@dallascityhall.com 214-670-4048

District 3: Casey Thomas, II richard.soto@dallascityhall.com 214-670-0777

District 4: Carolyn King Arnold District4@DallasCityHall.com 214-670-0781

District 5: Jaime Resendez jaime.resendez@dallascityhall.com 214-670-4052

District 6: Omar Narvaez Laura.Cadena@dallascityhall.com 214-670-4199

District 7: Adam Bazaldua district7@dallascityhall.com 214-670-4689

District 8: Tennell Atkins maria.salazar2@dallascityhall.com 214-670-4066

District 9: Paula Blackmon District9@dDallasCityHall.com 214-670-4069

District 10: Adam McGough adam.mcgough@dallascityhall.com 214-670-4068

District 11: Lee Kleinman sophia.figueroa@dallascityhall.com 214-670-7817

District 12: Cara Mendelsohn cara.mendelsohn@dallascityhall.com 214-670-4067

District 13: Jennifer S. Gates jennifer.gates@dallascityhall.com 214-670-3816

District 14: David Blewett david.blewett@dallascityhall.com 214-670-5415 


3. Mayor, Eric Johnson – Call or Email Eric to hold him accountable and take action for Transportation in city of Dallas

a. Vote new Resolution for Dallas To Withdraw Support for the Cotton Belt

b. Vote to create a transportation plan to increase ridership, lower subsidy per passenger and improve safety

Mayor: Eric Johnson  eric.johnson@dallascityhall.com  214-670-3301 

image2

GET Connected

Subscribe below for updates or contact us via email at info@dart-rider.org.